1995 Canada Post : Superheroes

1995 Canada Post : Superheroes Stamps

On October 2, 1995, Canada Post issued a series of 45-cent postage stamps and postcards honoring Canadian creators in the comic book industry. The Superheroes commemorative stamps and postcards reproduce five different illustrations by Joe Shuster, Adrian Dingle, Leo Bachle, George Freeman, and Gabriel Morrisssette.

The Superheroes stamp series was designed by Louis Fishauf. The Fleur de Lys stamp was unveiled at CAN-CON '95, held May 12–14, 1995, at The Talisman Hotel in Ottawa. Fleur de Lys creator Mark Shainblum was in attendance.

Booklets contain ten commemorative stamps; two of each design. Each souvenir sheet contains a five-stamp block. The stamp images appear on sets of five postage-paid postcards, as well as individual t-shirts. All related materials are printed in English and French. Day of issue envelopes depict an illustration of Northguard by Gabriel Morrissette. Northguard wears a large maple leaf emblem, the national symbol of Canada.

The Superheroes collection features the first appearance of Superman on an official government issued postage stamp. In 2013, Canada Post issued a series of Superman postage stamps and postcards as part of the Superman 75th Anniversary celebration.

1995 Canada Post : Superheroes - Superman Postcard 1995 Canada Post : Superheroes Stamp Booklet

The Superman stamp (Scott #1579) is a composite edited from the cover and frontispiece of Superman #3 (Winter 1939). The Superman images were illustrated by the Joe Shuster Shop, which at the time included Paul Cassidy and Dennis Neville. The cover feature reprints "Superman and the Runaway" from the Superman daily newspaper strips, first published June 12–22, 1939.

Joe Shuster Shop, Superman #3 (Winter 1939)Joe Shuster Shop, Superman #3 (Winter 1939)

Superman was created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, debuting in Action Comics #1 (June 1938). Joe Shuster was born in Toronto on July 10, 1914. At age nine, Joe hawked newspapers for the Toronto Daily Star while attending Ryerson Public School. Clark Kent and Lois Lane originally worked as reporters for the Daily Star in Metropolis. The Daily Star was renamed Daily Planet in the Superman newspaper strip on November 13, 1939.

Heritage Minutes were first released by Historica Canada in 1991. The series is comprised of one-minute films that depict people and events in Canadian history. The Superman feature portrays a fictional Joe Shuster and Lois. Joe is boarding a train to visit his cousin Frank Shuster, a member of the popular comedic duo Wayne and Shuster. Joe Shuster was played by Adam Greydon Reid. Lois was played by Catherine Colvey. The Heritage Minutes film erroneously places the creation of Superman in 1931. Jerry Siegel is completely omitted.

The Joe Shuster Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards (Joe Shuster Awards) are administered by The Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Association. The Joe Shuster Awards have been presented to Canadian industry figures since April 2005.

Joe Shuster Way is a residential street in Toronto that was built in 2006. The street was designed and named by Urbancorp. The shape of Joe Shuster Way and the connecting streets resembles the pentagonal Superman 'S' emblem.

Joe Shuster Way, Toronto Staff Report - 09-22-2005

On December 2, 1940, the government of Canada enacted the War Exchange Conservation Act (WECA), restricting the importation of all non-essential luxury goods. Comics books from the United States were effectively banned in Canada during World War II.

In March 1941, Maple Leaf Publishing released Better Comics #1, the first Canadian comic book. Publisher Vernon Miller featured a superhero named The Iron Man, a character similar to Namor the Sub-Mariner. The black-and-white comics of the war era are known as "Canadian Whites." In September 1941, Toronto printer Cyril Bell released Wow Comics #1, the first full-color Canadian comic.

Nelvana of the Northern Lights is credited as the first Canadian national superhero. Nelvana was created by Adrian Dingle, founder of Hillborough Studios in Toronto. The mythological heroine debuted in the pages of Triumph-Adventure Comics #1 (August 1941). Her final appearance was in Super-Duper Comics #3 (May 1947).

Johnny Canuck first appeared in Dime Comics #1 (February 1942). The character was created by 15-year-old Toronto native Leo Bachle. The original Johnny Canuck features were printed in black and white. Bachle advised Canada Post on the proper color palette.

Captain Canuck was created by Ron Leishman and Richard Comely. The original character first appeared in Captain Canuck #1 (July 1975). The stamp image was illustrated by George Freeman. The series ran for 15 issues published over a span of 29 years. The final issue of Captain Canuck was released in June 2004 by Comely Communications Inc.

Fleur de Lys is a French-speaking superheroine from Quebec, created by writer Mark Shainblum and artist Gabriel Morrissette. Fleur de Lys (Lily flower) first appeared in New Triumph featuring Northguard #1 (September 1984). The fleur-de-lys symbol was depicted on the coat of arms of France throughout various periods in history.